Need some experienced REW advice

mikewellington

Hi.

I have been trying to improve my home studio acoustics.

I've been using REW on and off for about two years and have a reasonable understanding of how to take measurements and interpret them.

Here I am using a UMIK-1 and my studio audio interface applying 1/12 smoothing to the measurements within v 5.20 Beta 5.

I made some new measurements this morning and I identified some areas that needed attention. So I tried placing a graphic eq between my mixer and my monitors.

I can certainly notice the difference when working but the REW readouts are confusing me slightly. They sort of follow the same troublesome areas only the graphic is at a lower volume (approx -15db)

My questions is:

In general do you think my graphic eq measurement suggests that my current setup is adequate enough as a mixing environment that I can "trust" or should I look to fix the bigger peaks and dips?

Are any other areas that you feel need attention? I included the.mdat file.

I would very much appreciate your input.

Thanks,

M

Attachments

• Q2031B Comparison 18-02-19.png
    Q2031B Comparison 18-02-19.png
    27.8 KB · Views: 23
  • Q2031B Comparison 18-02-19.mdat
    2.4 MB · Views: 6
  • Q2031B Comparison 18-02-19. Ver 2.png
    Q2031B Comparison 18-02-19. Ver 2.png
    48.3 KB · Views: 20
  • Q2031B Comparison 19-02-19.mdat
    2.4 MB · Views: 2
  • Q2031B Comparison 19-02-19 - LEFT & RIGHT OFF.png
    Q2031B Comparison 19-02-19 - LEFT & RIGHT OFF.png
    30.1 KB · Views: 15
  • Q2031B Comparison 19-02-19 - LEFT & RIGHT ON.png
    Q2031B Comparison 19-02-19 - LEFT & RIGHT ON.png
    30.8 KB · Views: 15
  • Q2031B Comparison 19-02-19 - LEFT ON & OFF.png
    Q2031B Comparison 19-02-19 - LEFT ON & OFF.png
    29.8 KB · Views: 16
  • Q2031B Comparison 19-02-19 - RIGHT ON & OFF.png
    Q2031B Comparison 19-02-19 - RIGHT ON & OFF.png
    29.5 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:

John Mulcahy

REW Author