Measure and evaluate quality of USB audio interfaces!? (Presonus, Focusrite, Mackie, Behringer)

Schmidt123

Registered
Hi guys,

I am a musician. At my studio I have an RME-Fireface. Now - because of corona reglementation - I cannot go there and I want to buy a simple cheap USB-Audio-Interface to mix some old recordings, maybe record something new and listen to music.
I have 3 interfaces here to test: Presonus Audiobox 96, Behringer UMC202HD, Mackie Onyx Producer 2-2.

Can I use the measurements from within the same interface (loop output to input - like calibration) to judge it's quality or at least to rate those three interfaces in sound quality to choose one?

Apart from the frequency response REW-measurements show me THD and noise floor. I tried to measure to crosstalk between the two stereo channels, by setting the left output for the sweep but looping the right output to the measuring input.

However I am not sure if this makes sense. What is the right way to setup to make it comparable?
And I don't now what to look for. And I don't know how to read or interpret the THD-charts.

I try to attach the measuring-session.

Hope you can give me some insights.

Btw: I calibrate the interface by looping output to input. Then I want to verify my calibration. But the frequency response is not flat? Why? However it is repeatable always the same curve with every other measurement.

Cheers,
Schmidt

Edit: Uploading the 60mb .mdat did not work. Here are graphics.

Attachments

• Presonus.jpg
    Presonus.jpg
    182.9 KB · Views: 98
  • Behringer.jpg
    Behringer.jpg
    185.3 KB · Views: 107
  • Mackie.jpg
    Mackie.jpg
    190.1 KB · Views: 92
  • Mackie verify.jpg
    Mackie verify.jpg
    172.7 KB · Views: 87
Last edited:

John Mulcahy

REW Author