Sony 85 inch X950H FALD TV
Mean Girls: 15th Anniversary Edition

Movie: :3.5stars:
Video: :3.5stars:
Audio: :3.5stars:
Extras: :2.5stars:
Final Score: :3.5stars:

Movie

I had almost forgotten about Mean Girls (outside of referencing it in other reviews) when I saw that Paramount had sent me this review disc last week. I was shocked. Was it really 15 years ago that this came out? Nah, couldn’t have been! I was just out of college when this hit theatrically and went to go see it with my fiancee (now wife) and remember it being really funny. A sort of modern version of Heathers sans guns and shooting up the school (oh the irony and ohhhhhhh how Heathers would never be socially acceptable nowadays). Now I’m looking at the realization that it was FIFTEEN YEARS since I graduated and I have to come to grips with the fact that time flies. Mean Girls also stands as the last really big name film that child star Lindsay Lohan did before she pretty much dropped out of Hollywood standing due to her rampant drug abuse.

15 year old Cady Heron (Lindsay Lohan) has just moved to a new school for the first time. Pretty typical of most teenagers who move around, but for Cady it’s a bit different. Here parents lived in Africa for most of her life, so she was home schooled for her entire life until this point in her existence. That means that she’s not only having her first day of a new school, but a first day AT school in general. Blending in is hard enough when you’re new, but being a newbie at EVERYTHING to do with school leaves one a bit on the outside. Finding solace in the school “losers” Janis (Lizzy Caplan) and Damian (Daniel Franzese, Cady does her best to fit in. Out of sheer boredom the “plastics” (e.g., the hot snooty girl cliques) invite Cady over to their table, which gives Janis the perfect idea. Since Cady is the new “hot” girl, she can infiltrate the plastics and unveil their inner demons to the whole school.