Surround Speakers
Monitor Audio Bronze FX
Subwoofers
Arendal Sound 1723 Subwoofer 1.5
Other Speakers or Equipment
DSPeaker Anti-Mode 8033 Cinema
Video Display Device
LG 65" OLED 4K OLED65B9S
I am new to REW and measuring, but I followed the "Getting Started with REW"-guide. I did the test measurements, and all looked good and according to the guide.

But I have one question:
When measuring using "Speaker 4" in REW, which is the LFE channel, I get a graph showing the frequency response of the sub (10-160Hz), as expected.
But when I measure using "Speaker 1" in REW, which is my Front Left, I assumed I would get a similary graph, except that the Front Left would "take over" at the crossover-frequency, and "continue" in the same dB-range. But, for frequences below the crossover (60Hz), the graph shows 10-20dB lower for Front Left than for the Sub.
Is this normal, or have I done something wrong? See attached graph and .mdat-file.

My setup: I have a Denon AVR-X4100W which I did a factory reset on before these measurments. I preformed a Audyssey measurement as part of the (new) setup. Between my AVR and Sub, I have a Antimode Cinema which was calibrated and enabled when I ran the Audyssey setup. The measurments (attached) was taken using my laptop with a HDMI cable to my Denon AVR, and using a UMIK-1 mic (with calibration file loaded). My noisefloor was 40dB, so when using the SPL-meter and pink noise, I had to set my AVR to -5dB to get 85dB on the SPL.

Attachments

• Sub+FR with Aud.jpg
    Sub+FR with Aud.jpg
    67.7 KB · Views: 72
  • Sub+FR wo Aud.jpg
    Sub+FR wo Aud.jpg
    65.9 KB · Views: 68
  • Take 3 - Text.mdat
    930.3 KB · Views: 5

friedmud

Registered
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Denon X3700H
But are they supposed to? Like - is that something that's done because most subs suck? Or is it REALLY supposed to be there - like DD mixes are -10db on the LFE channel and the AVR +10db is to bring it back up?