Installation/start-up issues 5.20 beta

Discussion in 'Official REW (Room EQ Wizard) Support Forum' started by martin.atterhall, Dec 2, 2018.

  1. martin.atterhall

    martin.atterhall New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Just found out about REW and am really looking forward to start tweaking, but I'm not able to make it run on my laptop (Win 10). I've tried the different versions, updated Java and keep getting this message.
    upload_2018-12-2_12-30-4.png

    Any hints on what could be wrong/missing?

    /Martin
     
  2. John Mulcahy

    John Mulcahy REW Author

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    160
    Most likely an incomplete download, or antivirus software has modified the file. The file is 36,173 KB, check the download is the same length.
     
  3. martin.atterhall

    martin.atterhall New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your quick response! I've downloaded again and only get 33 641 KB (identical). AV disabled temporarily. Also, in the download section, the file is stated to be 32,9 MB, weird?
    upload_2018-12-2_20-29-50.png
     
  4. John Mulcahy

    John Mulcahy REW Author

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    160
    My mistake, sorry, mouse highlighted the macOS build when I was checking the size, 33,641 KB is correct. Just downloaded and installed it from the Downloads section and all behaved normally.
     
  5. martin.atterhall

    martin.atterhall New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reinstalled, now functional :yes: - I'd apparently messed things up by trying to install in other than the default folder. :whistling:
     
  6. John Mulcahy

    John Mulcahy REW Author

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    160
    Curious, seems to install OK to other folders for me but I haven't tried folders outside Program Files.
     

Share This Page