I'm grateful for some help with speaker measurements.

Toe in

Registered
Hi, I'm (trying to) construct a fairly ambitious active 3- way speaker system. I'm not really experienced when it comes to speakers - I normally into various amplifiers and DAC's.

So my initial question is; Is it really feasible to measure and develop a speaker i a normal living room? There are articles ( In this REW forum, there is a guide "How to make quasi-anechoic speaker measurements with REW") about doing pretty good measurements of speakers in an ordinary room, if we are gating the measurement. This guy presents really nice curves - usually flat and nice within some 2dB. But I'm not near that kind of resolution.

My room is around 4 by 5 meters, and is fairly good damped with absorbents on the walls, etc. It's a pretty enjoyable listening room. In order to make some measurements, I have hoisted out most stuff, and I have positioned the speaker in the middle of the room. The microphone ( an UMIK 1 ) is around 1.1 meters from the speaker - on axis. The tweeter is a Mundorf AMT type - a pretty expensive one ( ~700 EUR pair). And the enclosure looks a bit odd - it's made up from concrete and MDF boards. Please look at the photos. I expected the result to be a mess, regarding all reflections. But I have windowed the output at 5ms.