How to set PC microphone level for spectrum analysis?

eepty

Registered
I want to do some audio spectrum analysis on an appliance so I bought a Daytonaudio measurement USB microphone. I hope to use it with the REW to do the analysis.

I plugged the USB microphone to my computer and tested the "RTA" and "measure" function in REW. I think they are working and it did show the frequency domain graph with the waveform. However I am wondering how to set my PC recording device level for the correct measurement. It is because when I change the recording level in my computer, the amplitude of the waveform also change. Then how can I tell what is the sound level of the appliance in a particular frequency?

I am a newbie in this field, hopping you can help.

Thank you very much.

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Did you load the calibration file for the microphone? That should contain a sensitivity figure for REW to use. If you then also make sure you have selected the mic as the input device and input REW will be able to compensate for the input volume setting.

eepty

Registered
Did you load the calibration file for the microphone? That should contain a sensitivity figure for REW to use. If you then also make sure you have selected the mic as the input device and input REW will be able to compensate for the input volume setting.

Yes I have loaded the calibration file for the microphone. In fact when I plug the microphone into my PC, and then open the REW, the REW will pop up a message notice me that I am using the UMM-6 USB microphone and it ask me to select the calibration file.

Is that mean I should not change the recording level in my PC after I opened the REW?

John Mulcahy

REW Author