How many subs?

thexder

Hi all!

I was just researching how to time align multiple subs (more on that later) and did some measurements with two and three subs.
The difference between two and three is subtle but somehow three make the bass more fuller and deeper.
All measurements were done with room correction software. No manual settings were used.

Here is the file. I deliberately deleted almost all the information so there's no data whether there were 2 or 3 subs included in the measurement.
Legend: ABS = some absorption, XABS = more absorption

As an amateur I see very little difference on the graphs so I'm counting on you guys to share your thoughts. ;)

Attachments

• sub_locations.mdat
    1.4 MB · Views: 24

Matthew J Poes

AV Addict
I’ll take a look when i get to my computer later.

What do you mean by no manual control? How did you align them?

As for absorption? What is the absorption and what did you do to add or take away absorption?

As for auto-room correction, was it rerun each time you changed things?

thexder

Hi,

thank you, Matthew.
Room correction did the time alignment. It supports two subs. Two of them were always equidistant.
It was rerun each time I changed positions.
The absorption: seven 8" thick absorber panels (24"x40", 10.000 Ns/m4). ABS means 4 panels at the front, XABS means 4 at the front and 3 behind the seats.

Matthew J Poes

AV Addict
Hey @thexder I tried to see what is going on but I too can't see any major differences here. Not even from the absorption. The issue may simply be that you are getting a very flat/smooth response with the correction.

Can you tell me what the measurements are? What is AUD? What about the 6 or 7? If I knew what this was, then it would help.