Getting different SPL numbers on the Mac and PC with same calibrated UMM-6..what's happening?

John Mulcahy

REW Author
The input hasn't been selected on the Mac, still showing "Default input". That means REW can't access the input volume setting to take it into account.

John Mulcahy

REW Author
The relationship between the input volume control and the mic gain may not be what REW thinks it is on either the Mac or the PC (or possibly both). To check that, play a test signal (e.g. pink PN) at a comfortable level then keep an eye on the SPL meter reading while trying a few different input volume settings. If the meter goes back to the same value after the input volume is changed then the correction is working as it should, if not a bit more investigation will be needed to establish what the volume-to-mic-gain relationship is.

slicksilver79

Registered
Pardon me as I'm new to this - Where can I try different input volume settings? Also, is the test signal part of REW and how would you determine comfortable level. Appreciate your help in trying to help me out!

John Mulcahy

REW Author
On Windows there is an input volume setting just under the input selection on the REW soundcard preferences, you can change it there. On Mac you will need to use the Mac's sound settings. For the test signal use REW's signal generator and play the pink noise signal using the "Speaker cal" setting, assuming you are connected to a speaker somewhere in the system. By "comfortable level" I mean something you could happily listen to for a long period, not loud, say 70 dB or so.

slicksilver79

Registered