REW Beta Release Failure to load ASIO driver for Native Instruments' Komplete Audio 6 interface

assaftzur

Registered
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
8
Hello all,
I'm experiencing a failure to load ASIO drivers for Native Instruments' Komplete Audio 6 audio interface (the old version) in the Beta versions.
At first attempt to load this interface I'll get an error message "unable to load the driver for...Komplete Audio 6"
At second attempt the REW will crash.

I never had an issue with any of the official releases.
Thanks


35017
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,498
Hello all,
I'm experiencing a failure to load ASIO drivers for Native Instruments' Komplete Audio 6 audio interface (the old version) in the Beta versions.
Which beta versions have you tried? Does that still happen after restarting the PC?

Could try uninstalling the beta and installing 5.19 to see whether that is still able to load the driver.
 

assaftzur

Registered
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
8
Hello John,
I have both 5.19 and 5.20 beta60 versions installed.
In 5.19 the driver works as expected, and loads perfectly.
The issue exists in the beta versions only. The computer was restarted.
That way, I have to perform the actual measurement on 5.19. I can open the files in the beta version.
Another thing I noticed though, that if I save the measurements file in the beta software I'm unable to re-open it in 5.19.
I don't know if this was intentional but worth mentioning.
Thanks
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,498
The issue exists in the beta versions only. The computer was restarted.
Can you try earlier beta versions (from the History tab of the download page for your OS) to see if there is some particular beta at which it stops working?
That way, I have to perform the actual measurement on 5.19. I can open the files in the beta version.
Another thing I noticed though, that if I save the measurements file in the beta software I'm unable to re-open it in 5.19.
That is expected since elements of the mdat format have changed for 5.20.
 

assaftzur

Registered
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
8
Hello John,
I can confirm that Beta 59 produced the same failure.
Beta 7 which runs in 32bit (not a limitation to me) worked fine and worked with the Komplete Audio 6 as expected.
I hope this helps.

Thanks for clarification on limited backward compatibility.
Assaf
 

assaftzur

Registered
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
8
This audio interface works in ASIO with no issues with all my professional audio software (Studio One, Samplitude, Wavelab), all work in 64bit, so I don't believe there is an issue with the interface.
And by the way, I have tried the Beta 60 in 32bit which generated the same failure.

Assaf
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,498
There may be some information in the log files, if you attach the zipped log folder from C:\Users\<your username>\REW I'll review it. Beyond that there isn't any way for me to know what is going on. You could try a binary search through previous beta versions to try and pin down where it stopped working, that could narrow down the potential causes.
 

assaftzur

Registered
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
8
Hi John,
Please find the zip file attached.
Hoped this helps.
Assaf
 

Attachments

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,498
Nothing helpful in the log files unfortunately, just shows the driver failed to load and the ASIO API didn't give a reason. Is your interface the Mk2 version? I see there is a more recent driver for that one, from August.
 

assaftzur

Registered
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
8
Hello John,
I've downloaded and installed the new Beta version you released on both 64 and 32 version and rebooted the PC.
I'm still experiencing the same issue I'm afraid.
Assaf
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,498
Didn't expect it to, unfortunately I have no idea what is causing the problem with the Komplete Audio 6 driver or what change may have triggered it.
 

assaftzur

Registered
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
8
That is unfortunate.
In the mean time I'll use the java drivers settings although it limits the audio channels I can use.
I hope that you'll be able figure it out at some stage.
Thanks for the effort.
 
Top Bottom