DTS Neural Surround UpMix plug-in with Audiolense

2234rew

Member
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
186
Hi @hulkss

I remember you wrote you use this stereo-to-7.1 up-mixer

On macOS, does it work in the app 'Element' ? via VST3?

If you have Element, could you show a screenshot of the path for how the DTS plugin could work, with a convolver like X-MCFX ?

I already use Element and X-MCFX (I first wrote about it on this forum), but just for stereo speaker system (2.2 system with DSP crossovers)

Thanks!
 

hulkss

Active Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2020
Messages
181
Lately, I'm using NUGEN Audio Halo Upmix on my M1 Mac mini.

Last time I tried, I could not get it to load in Element, however, it works fine in Plogue Bidule.
I'm running the X-MCFX Convolver in Element as it would not run in Bidule.
I'm routing audio with Rogue Amoeba Loopback.

Screen Shot 2021-07-14 at 5.19.53 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-07-14 at 5.23.56 PM.png

Screen Shot 2021-07-14 at 5.26.28 PM.png
 

2234rew

Member
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
186
Lately, I'm using NUGEN Audio Halo Upmix on my M1 Mac mini.

Last time I tried, I could not get it to load in Element, however, it works fine in Plogue Bidule.
I'm running the X-MCFX Convolver in Element as it would not run in Bidule.
I'm routing audio with Rogue Amoeba Loopback.

View attachment 43487View attachment 43488
View attachment 43489
Very nice!

I guess I can answer my own question now.

Everything working nicely in Element for me. Only testing stereo to LCR at the moment.

Phantom center is nice but nothing beats a true centre !

And DTS plugin allows you to mix how much trues vs center, really easily , on the fly

Screen Shot 2021-07-16 at 12.54.44 pm.png
 

2234rew

Member
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
186
I don't understand your output connection to the UpMix block?
Updated screenshot above to show the DTS plugin.

Ha yeh, I could make it straight forward for the DTS block output but then the X-MCFX block output would be mangled

One of them has to be mangled in the end - doesn't matter which.

I'm using an AVR as both MC DAC and amp - AVR is connected to Mac Mini over HDMI.

So I have 8 channels to play with but the channel mapping with HDMI is a pain but I understand it well now.

Each AVR speaker output goes to individual driver. AL doing TTD Correction + driver time alignment

AVR is set to 'Pure Direct' to by-pass all internal DSP. Denon AVR volume control is done in analogue domain but still have a remote control to adjust volume from the couch.

I'm using the AVR center channel (Ch3) for single subwoofer output - the sub has speaker level input. I will eventually add a 2nd sub and use RCA cable to each sub from the AVR.

Everything works brilliant and it's a really affordable way to have 8 channels DAC and amp in one box with remote volume control (analogue domain).
 

2234rew

Member
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
186
And for some reason the DTS block 'right' channel output isn't output #2 - I learnt the hard way today that it's output #7

I don't know what convention that follows but I figured it out

Verified to make sure this is right, using REW
 
Last edited:

hulkss

Active Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2020
Messages
181
You are only using two channels of the upmix output?

DTS upmix has normal channel routing on my system.
You can verify the outputs by clicking an "S" block (above the output meters) to solo one channel at a time.
 

2234rew

Member
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
186
You are only using two channels of the upmix output?

DTS upmix has normal channel routing on my system.
You can verify the outputs by clicking an "S" block (above the output meters) to solo one channel at a time.

Yes this was just a very quick test to see if it can all work in Element for me. I literally just set it up 30 mins before making my post.

This is not final config.

I did verify using S block (also verified with REW measurements) but still right channel corresponds to Ch7 on the DTS block for me.

I will play more but I can't think of what else could be causing this.
 

hulkss

Active Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2020
Messages
181
It's possible I was having a similar problem and did not verify the channels on my Mac Mini. I switched to Halo UpMix because DTS was sounding bad on my Mac (was OK on Windows 10).
 

2234rew

Member
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
186
sounding bad on my Mac (was OK on Windows 10
Win10 and macOS do map surrounds differently but LCR and LFE are same, so no idea why my right channel has to be on Ch7 output

My cheat sheet

43535
 

2234rew

Member
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
186
I don't understand your output connection to the UpMix block?
I should also add, I could also do the ugly wiring/mapping inside the matrix I create in Audicty for X-MCFX .

Then the block diagram wiring in Element would look really pretty in Element, with straight parallel lines.

So there's 3 different places the ugly wiring (mapping) could be done but end result is the same , needs to be done somewhere (in my case)
 
Top Bottom