Can this be Right?...Or did I mess something up?

Cheetodust

This is my first time using REW but followed an instructional video by Home Theater Gurus on youtube to get started. I have a Dayton Audio 15" Subwoofer with SPA-1000 plate amp and an HSU STF-2 connected to a Mini-DSP HD. I took several measurements of both subwoofers and this is my result.

Can this actually be correct or do you think there is a setting somewhere that is causing such a steep and early roll off? Very disappointing to not even be below 40Hz. Thanks for any suggestions.

JStewart

Senior AV Addict
Supporter
Something is amiss. By default the minidsp comes with crossovers on. Sure you got them bypassed?

Jean Ibarz

More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Computer
Main Amp
Gemini XP3000
Additional Amp
Samson SERVO 600
Other Amp
Samson SERVO 200 and Yamaha STR-DB840
Hi, yeah it seems that your subwoofer is high pass filtered. Do you hear anything when you play a sinus at 40hz ?

Cheetodust

Went into Minidsp and made sure EQ and crossover are bypassed. Played with the tone generator and set at 40Hz. Was able to hear a "bump" that cycles like every 1-2 seconds. I keep hearing the sweep tone through my other speakers though. Could that be effecting anything? I set my receiver (Denon AVR-X6500H) crossover for all speakers at 250Hz with the LFE crossover at 120Hz for the testing. Have the sweep tone gong from 10 - 120Hz. Went into my laptop sound settings and made sure nothing was off there. Set to 7 channel instead of stero like default. Was able to view a slight bump at 40-50 Hz but nothing like it should be. Have my laptop set to output sound through HDMI to receiver with HDMI into AUX 1 on front. Really appreciate your help. I know it's not easy diagnosing this over the internet.

Jean Ibarz

More  
Computer
Main Amp
Gemini XP3000
Additional Amp
Samson SERVO 600
Other Amp
I think you have a problem with your amplifier. Try switching the analog output maybe, see if it sovles your problem.