Calibration of Tascam US122mkII

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 2018
Messages
48
I realize there is another thread asking about the same card, but I'm experiencing a different problem so didn't want to pollute the other thread.

I'm attempting to generate a calibration file for the Tascam. I connected a cable from RCA line out to the 1/4" line in (my EMM-6 mic connects thru XLR, but don't have such spare connector to assemble the cable to RCA now). I believe the upper range of the response I'm getting is not good - looks like noise to me, or feedback. Attached the response, and also a screenshot of the calibration setup screen, and a picture of the Tascam settings. I think I have all settings such that there's no feedback, but can't figure it out.

Feedback, ideas?

Thanks!
 

Attachments

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 21, 2017
Messages
365
Location
Corpus Christi, TX
My AV System  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Yamaha RX-Z9 A/V Receiver
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Pioneer BDP-23FD Blu Ray Player
Front Speakers
Canton Karat 920
Center Channel Speaker
Canton Plus D
Surround Speakers
Canton Plus D
Surround Back Speakers
Realistic Minimus 7 (front EFX speakers)
Front Height Speakers
Yamaha YDP2006 Digital Parametric EQ (front mains)
Rear Height Speakers
Yamaha YDP2006 Digital Parametric EQ (subs)
Subwoofers
Adcom ACE-515 (for power management)
Video Display Device
Yamaha DT-2 (digital clock display)
Screen
Audio Control R130 Real Time Analyzer
Remote Control
Stock Yamaha Remote
Other Equipment
Pioneer PDP-6010FD 60" Plasma TV
Tough call. Maybe John will weigh in.

In the meantime, I assume you made sure the signal wasn’t overloading? Did you try it with the switch set to Mono?

When it get right down to it, the frequency response is fine. You don’t need a calibration file unless you need a timing reference.

Regards,
Wayne
 

DanDan

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2018
Messages
268
+1 You do not need a Calbration File with a normal interface in working condition. There is obviously something wrong here. Try running REW on your computers own soundcard.
 

John Mulcahy

REW Author
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
3,180
Is the card set to run at 48 kHz in the Windows audio properties for its input and output? If not the OS will be resampling between the REW rate and the rate the card is set to run at. Could try ASIO drivers instead, with those the driver will properly configure the sample rate.
 
Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 2018
Messages
48
Is the card set to run at 48 kHz in the Windows audio properties for its input and output? If not the OS will be resampling between the REW rate and the rate the card is set to run at. Could try ASIO drivers instead, with those the driver will properly configure the sample rate.
Of course you nailed it!! I had not set up on Windows Control Panel the device to be at 48kHz by default. And thank you for clarifying "input and output", because I switched the output and couldn't get REW to work until I figured I had to also set input at 48kHz. Thank you so much!!

How does this look? It's kind of what I was expecting. The smoothed 1/48 dropped before 20kHz and didn't look good.

BTW, I will turn to ASIO going forward. Will follow Kimmo Saunisto guide to measure drivers/speakers to use VituixCAD.
 

Attachments

Top Bottom