Brand new and totally lost - can anyone please help?

EpicEsquire

Registered
I am setting up a home recording setup in my spare bedroom and I have no experience with acoustic treatment. I have attached a rough diagram of the room (the sliding glass doors are covered by sliding plantation shutters)

The desk is up against the 9'2"" wall
Speakers are equidistant from the side walls and 5" from the back

I use an Apogee Element 24 audio interface and a Blue Spark XLR condenser microphone

I read that with modern day audio interfaces, there is no need to calibrate the audio interface so I moved to Measuring

I placed the microphone in the listening position and REW flashed that my levels were good

I am attaching the .mdat and a screenshot of the "waterfall"

However, I have no idea what I am looking at or what this translates into

Perhaps I need to find a professional to come measure the room?

I appreciate any advice you can provide - thank you

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2020-02-16 at 5.46.38 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-02-16 at 5.46.38 PM.png
    7.2 KB · Views: 42
  • Screen Shot 2020-02-16 at 10.53.47 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-02-16 at 10.53.47 PM.png
    137 KB · Views: 44
  • REW_1.mdat
    137.6 KB · Views: 12
Last edited:

John Mulcahy

REW Author
The 57 Hz and 130 Hz peaks are quite pronounced, it would be good to try and improve that. If you have some flexibility in the positions of your speakers or seat you can try moving things around to see if it helps, a good way to do that is to play the Pink PN test signal and look at the RTA with the settings below, so you can watch how the response changes as the mic and/or speakers move. You could also try some parametric EQ to bring down those peaks.

EpicEsquire

Registered