Advice On Sub Integration

Discussion in 'Official REW (Room EQ Wizard) Support Forum' started by dorian, Mar 8, 2019.

  1. dorian

    dorian New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    First time poster here so please take it easy on me. I'm trying to integrate a REL T7i sub with my KEF LS50 two-channel setup. I've never tried this before and have never used REW before. What I've done so far sounds pretty good to my ears; bass is not localized to the sub and sounds like I would expect it to sound on music with which I am very familiar. Two graphs below; first one is just the LS50, no sub. The second one is the sub and LS50, with the sub crossed at 50.25hz.

    I tried moving the LS50s around to remove that hump around 70hz, but the only positioning that made an improvement had the speakers way too far apart from each other and it ruined the imaging. Also room treatments aren't really an option due to WAF issues. Having said this, I think the sound is great, so I'm really just trying to get the sub to integrate with the LS50s as they are.

    My specific question are:

    1. What would be the ideal crossover frequency for the sub?

    2. Do I have the sub too loud?

    Any other comments welcome too.

    Thanks in advance.

    Graph 1: LS50s Only, No Sub
    No Sub.jpg

    Graph 2: LS50s and T7i Sub
    Sub On.jpg
     
  2. dorian

    dorian New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone care to comment please?
     
  3. dorian

    dorian New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should I actually be crossing it over at ~75hz, where the first big drop off occurs?
     
  4. Tony V.

    Tony V. Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Have you tried either moving the sub or adjusting the phase? I would also run the crossover at 80Hz
     
  5. dorian

    dorian New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply Tony. What would be the goal of moving the sub or adjusting the phase?
     
  6. Tony V.

    Tony V. Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Bass reacts to room boundaries and sometimes by moving the sub to a different location in the room can make a huge difference in what you feel/hear.
    Adjusting the Phase can change how the sub reacts at the crossover frequency with your mains.
     
  7. dorian

    dorian New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Tony. What I meant to ask was, is there something in the graphs that makes you think adjusting placement or phase might make an improvement? I’ve already played with both of those and got it sounding good, so I’m curious if something in the graphs stand out to you.

    Thanks again.
     
  8. Tony V.

    Tony V. Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Well, you said that your crossed over at 50hz, I would raise that to 80 and do another reading and post it. Some of that dip at 60hz is in room response. So moving the sub and adjusting the phase will also move that dip around but if you don't move the sub you won't be able to fix all of it.
     
  9. dorian

    dorian New Member
    Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK now I'm following you, thanks. The thing is though, the mains will still be fed full range; there's no other way for me to set it up. So even if I crossover at 80 and smooth out the sub by relocating it or adjusting its phase, the mains will still have their bumpiness won't they? The only option I have with the LS50s is to plug their bass ports - that might work?
     
  10. Tony V.

    Tony V. Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Yes, plugging the port is an option also. I'm sure others will chime in on other suggestions as well but start with the above
     
    dorian likes this.

Share This Page